Jump to: main content, navigation, or top of page.

Jump to: main content, navigation, or top of page.

Westland Foundation
WFEF General Criteria

The Westland Foundation Education Fund consists of two main elements:

  1. The scholarship itself, wherein every mark of 80% or better earned by a student within our boundaries will result in a minimum of $15.00 being held in trust and credited towards tuition at a post-secondary school of their choosing when the student decides to go to a post-secondary school.

    Should the student decide not to pursue post-secondary studies immediately following high school, the funds will continue to be held in trust for 30 months, after which the award would revert back to the foundation in order to assist others. Based on the 95/96 school year, over 5,000 students would be eligible to receive support.

  2. Job finding support, we are working to establish a system whereby students participating in the program will be assisted in finding part-time or summer jobs which will not conflict with their studies.

On September 23, 1997 the Winnipeg School Division # 1 formally endorsed the Westland Foundation Education Fund (Achievement Plus Educational Fund) as a scholarship program for their school division.

The Westland Foundation Education Fund is open to all students who are in grades 7 to 12 (Senior 4). Information provided to the Westland Foundation by Winnipeg School Division #1, indicates that over 5,000 students of the approximately 9,000 students attending the below list secondary schools, will participate annually by earning credits toward scholarships.

Participating Schools:

  • Andrew Mynarski
  • Argyle
  • Cecil Rhodes
  • Children of the Earth
  • Daniel McIntyre
  • David Livingstone
  • General Wolfe
  • Gordon Bell
  • Hugh John Macdonald
  • Isaac Brock
  • Isaac Newton
  • Lansdowne
  • Meadows West
  • Niji Mahkwa
  • R.B. Russell
  • Sacre Coeur
  • Sargent Park
  • St. John's
  • Shaughnessy
  • Sisler
  • Stanley Knowles
  • Tec Voc
  • William Whyte

Supporting schools who are in the boundaries, but do not have grade 7 or higher:

  • Champlain
  • Clifton
  • Dufferin
  • Faraday
  • Florence Nightingale
  • Greenway No.1 & 2
  • Inkster
  • John M. King
  • King Edward
  • Laura Secord
  • Lord Nelson
  • Luxton
  • Machray
  • Mulvey
  • Norquay
  • Pinkham
  • Principal Sparling
  • Ralph Brown
  • Robertson
  • Sister MacNamara
  • Strathcona
  • Tyndall Park
  • Victoria-Albert
  • Wellington
  • Weston
  • Wolseley

“ The foundation of every state is the education of its youth.” ~ Diogenes Laertius

Jump to: main content, navigation, or top of page.

Document Information

Jump to: main content, navigation, or top of page.